Kalidasa's Trilogy

Kalidasa's Trilogy

Dipavali Debroy

Publisher: SPB Enterprises


It looks like the publisher has not made this title available in USA / North America

Kalidasa's Trilogy consists of three of Kalidasa's poetical works: Meghadootam, Kumarasambhavam and Raghuvamsham. The book starts by introducing Kalidasa to the readers and goes on to introducing his above mentioned works. Then the three stories are presented, not as a literal translation from Sanskrit, but as an adaptation in English prose highlighting the beauty of Kalidasa's poetry at every step. Except for Meghadootam, which is an original tale of a Yaksha pining for his wife and sending a love-message through a cloud; Kalidasa has drawn from older sources like the Puranas and Ramayana for his other works. Kumarasambhavam is about Shiva and Parvati. Raghuvamsham is about a royal family, the Suryavamsha, the family of Rama of Ramayana. The purpose of this book is to bring to the readers the treasures of Indian classic literature, so that they are able to understand and appreciate its beauty and are encouraged to read the original works.